The DSA award provides recognition to REALTORS® or employees whose time, effort and creative imagination have enabled the association to better serve its members.  

Award criteria

As the WRA's most prestigious award, the DSA recognizes high-quality service to the association on a long-term basis. While the DSA is not an "end of career" or "lifetime achievement" award, DSA recipients shall have demonstrated a high level of commitment to the WRA, contributed a substantial amount of time, effort and creative imagination, and established a record of effective participation in association affairs. Recipients' association activities shall have set a high standard and be worthy of emulation. The DSA will be awarded only once to each recipient.

Eligibility: All current members, local association executives and WRA employees with at least five years of membership or employment are eligible to receive the award.

Criteria for member and local association executives: Members and local association executives who receive the DSA shall have demonstrated: 

  • Active participation in WRA activities.  
  • Extraordinary dedication to the association through volunteer work. 
  • Leadership, expertise and teamwork.
  • Commitment to the association's objectives and ideals.

A recipient may have served on association committees or as an elected officer of the association. In whatever capacity of service, recipients shall have exhibited a willingness to place the association's interests ahead of their own.

Criteria for employees: Employee recipients of the DSA must have significantly exceeded the level of satisfactory job performance, demonstrating:

  • Extraordinary commitment to the association.
  • Responsiveness to association and member needs.
  • Willingness to innovate and experiment.
  • A high level of skill.

All award recipients, whether a member, local association executive or employee, may have represented the association through distinguished service on state government commissions, task forces or study committees.

Recipient recognition: The WRA chair will present the DSA each year at the WRA annual convention. Those accepting the award will also receive the following:

  1. A special, custom-designed plaque.
  2. Free convention registration for that year for both the recipient and a guest, which will include tickets to all WRA ticketed functions, excluding institute, society or council events.
  3. Special seating at the WRA opening session event.
  4. Recognition in the annual convention program, annual convention signage and the annual recognition issue of Wisconsin Real Estate Magazine.

Selection procedure: The recognition committee shall include four past DSA or state REALTOR® of the Year recipients — one of whom shall chair the committee, and five other WRA members. 

The committee shall consider only individuals whose names have been submitted for consideration at least 14 days prior to the committee's first meeting of the year. The maximum number of recipients each year shall be three.

The WRA staff will conduct any additional research that may be required by the committee  regarding the candidates. The results of the data collected will be reviewed and considered. Prior to August 1, the committee will determine by secret ballot that nominees are to receive the DSA. Those selected will be notified by the association chair and invited to attend the annual convention where the award will be presented. WRA staff will also notify each recipient's member board.

Nomination procedure: In order to allow the committee sufficient time to gather information and give consideration to each nominee, any nominations should be sent to the president or to the chair of the committee by June 30. Any member of the WRA including committee members, any local board or association of REALTORS® within Wisconsin, or any employee of the WRA may submit a name for consideration. The immediate past chair of the WRA shall automatically be considered for the DSA as if that person's name were submitted. Since the DSA will recognize association participation and leadership efforts, the immediate past chair should be the presumptive recipient

Copyright 1998 - 2022 Wisconsin REALTORS® Association. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   Accessibility   |   Real Estate Continuing Education